My favorite websites and online tools

Posted on January 25, 2010. Filed under: New Resources, Web 2.0 |

Drlogo11This week’s Daily Record column is entitled “My favorite websites and online tools.”

A pdf of the article can be found here and my past Daily Record articles can be accessed here.

******

My favorite websites and online tools

As you can probably imagine, I spend a lot of time online. Throughout my day, I find myself returning to the same Web sites over and over again. And, similarly, there are certain online tools that I use repeatedly.

It occurred to me that sharing my favorite Web sites and online tools might be useful to my readers. Although not all of these tools will be relevant to you, you may find a gem or two that will make your online life much simpler and more fulfilling.
Every morning I turn to three Web sites for information and news. First, I review the most popular news of the day at Yahoo News (http://news.yahoo.com/most- popular). The popular news is categorized in three ways: the “most e-mailed news,” the “most viewed news” and the “most recommended news.” Skimming over the news stories and headlines in each section gives me a good sense of what’s happening in the world and the interest level of certain events to other Internet users.

I then read through my RSS feeds using my RSS feed reader of choice, Feedly (www.feedly.com). Feedly pulls the feeds to blogs and other news sources that you subscribe to using Google Reader and presents them to you in a far more user-friendly interface. Feeds appear in a magazine-like view that is much easier on the eyes and sorting through new items is simple and intuitive.
Another benefit of Feedly is that it allows content to be shared quickly via e-mail, Twitter or on other social networking sites. Next, I hit Trendalicious (www.glozer.net/ trendy/), a Web site that offers a real-time ranking of the 100 most popular Web pages as reflected by the top pages trending on three Web sites that sort online content based upon user input: Delicious, digg and reddit. Trendalicious is a great way to get a feel for the topics and new technology products that the online community is focusing on at any given time.

As I peruse the blogs posts, news stories and Web sites that I discover using the above sources, I bookmark those that I find particularly interesting using Diigo (www.diigo.com), a Web- based bookmarking site. I prefer Web-based bookmarking sites to using the bookmark function of my browser because it is more streamlined and I can access my bookmarks from any computer.

Diigo is my preferred web-based bookmarking site for a number of reasons. First, Diigo automatically backs up any site that you bookmark to your “delicious” (www.delicious.com) account. Delicious is one of the most popular Web-based bookmarking services, and backing up your bookmarks to that database as well ensures that your information will not be lost on the off-chance that Diigo or Delicious should fail and lose all of your data.
Diigo also allows you to annotate web pages that interest you. You simply highlight the Web pages or add “sticky notes” using Diigo’s interface and save them to Diigo. The annotations will subsequently appear on the Web sites anytime you visit thereafter.

I also frequently use the “SimilarWeb” Firefox browser add-on (www.similar web.com/) whenever I land on a Web site that interests me. This add-on provides me with links to: (1) similar Web sites; (2) related articles from news sites and blogs; and (3) the latest social media buzz about the Web site. It’s an invaluable tool that is a real time saver.
Finally, once I’ve caught up with the news of the day, I update my daily to-do list by visiting TeuxDeux (http://teuxdeux.com), a simple, intuitive, Web-based to-do application. I recently started using TeuxDeux and it is now my to-do list application of choice.

My next step is to get to work tackling the items on my to-do list. As I do so, I find myself constantly revisiting the Web sites and tools mentioned above throughout my day. Hopefully you’ll find that a few of these resources will become as invaluable to you as they are to me.

2 Responses to “My favorite websites and online tools”

RSS Feed for Practicing Law in the 21st Century-A Law & Technology Blog Comments RSS Feed

Great list of tools! I also use Feedly, as well as Google Reader on the magic setting. Or sometimes I head straight to Techmeme. I also use my6sense when I am limited to my iPhone. Lazyfeed when I have more time to read. I also use Twitter times and Feedera to get the best of my follows twitter shares and MeeHive for the best of Web news. I star posts on Feedly or in Reader to save them, or Delicious to bookmark. I use ReQall for my to do list as I can use the iPhone voice command to enter notes with my voice and sync to the web and Gcal, but I am going to check out TeuxDeux – have heard of it but haven’t tried it yet.

I occasionally still use SimilarWeb too!

It’s nice to have so many options for efficiencies and there is always something new everyday to help the process. A large part of making the Web manageable for busy professionals is to come up with a strategy for a regular ritual.

Thanks for the great post.

Martha

[…] to my attention not along ago by a fellow blogger in an interesting post featuring her preferred online tools and websites.  In addition to Feedly, I investigated her other recommendations and have also added SimilarWeb […]


Comments are closed.

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

